The coaches of Class A District 8 have named their end of season football award recipients with Afton quarterback Ryan Markes leading the way as Player of the Year.

Markes, a 6’1”, 175 lbs senior, helped lead the Eagles to a 6-5 season and a third place finish in the district.

Eagles team mate T.J. Korb was named as Running Back of the Year. Korb, 5’8”, 165 lbs senior, rushed for 1078 yards this year on 139 carries with 16 touchdowns.

Rounding out the Afton presence in the awards was 6’1”, 215 lbs senior Shawn Free who was named as Tight End of the Year.

The Fairland Fighting Owls had two players receive end of the season awards. Tony Short was named as Linebacker of the Year while Tyler Spencer received an Injured Player award.

Salina coach Matt Williams and Commerce’s Willie Ng shared Coach of the Year honors.

Harrison Kay of Ketchum won the award for Quarterback of the Year. Warrior teammate Larry Ezell was named the Defensive Lineman of the Year.

Class A, District 8 Individual Awards and All District players

Player of the Year, Ryan Markes, Afton

Offensive Player of the Year, Josh Pilkinton, Commerce

Quarterback of the Year, Harrison Kay, Ketchum

Running Back of the Year, T.J. Korb, Afton

Receiver of the Year, Zach Barnes, Commerce; Kyle Moore, OK Union

Offensive Lineman of the Year, Sean Richard, Commerce

Injured Player, Clint Satterwhite, Ketchum; Tyler Spencer, Fairland

Defensive Player of the Year, Travis Eads, Commerce

Defensive Lineman of the Year, Larry Ezell, Ketchum

Defensive End of the Year, Corey Schulze, Foyil

Defensive Back of the Year, Nate Carnes, Salina

Linebacker of the Year, Tony Short, Fairland; Brock Crawford, Salina

Special Teams Player of the Year, Dusty Edens, Commerce

Tight End of the Year, Shawn Free, Afton

Coach of the Year, Matt Williams, Salina; Willie Ng, Commerce

All District

Afton- Magnum Mustain, Tyler Blount, Tyler Kahler, Tye Torley, Weston Andrews.

Ketchum- Colby Hemphill, Nik Frost, Taylor Mouse.

Fairland- Yancey Lett, Jesse Drosche, J.C. Morrow.

All District Honorable Mention

Afton- Tony Jarvis, Brennon Fuser, Thomas Mantooth, Tyler Mackey, Bryan Weaver, Spencer Johnston, Brooks Victor.

Ketchum- Zach Brown, Cody Wilson, Braxton Williams, Cody Johnson, Chase Gilpin.

Fairland- Kyle Smith, Josh Boyd, Justin Cox, Cody Taylr, Zach Needham, Robert Bluejacket.