The GHS Jazz Band once again won superior ratings recently, winning first runner-up in the OSAA State Jazz Band Contest Class 4A on Tuesday, April 28th at Oklahoma Christina University in Edmond.

No only was the band awarded a first runner-up plaque, it captured the OSSAA Sweepstakes Accent Award. This award is presented only to the band receiving Superior ratings from the OSSAA state competitions for marching, concert, and jazz ensembles.

The band performed “Count Bubba,” “Witchcraft,” “S’Wonderful” and “Storm Zone.”

Outstanding soloists were Tyler Linn — trumpet; Jordan Wilhelm — trombone; Stephanie Killion — Alto Saxophone; Heather Lungren — vocalist; Josh Wilhelm and Joseph Craven — percussion, and Joseph Craven — vibraphone.

“Congratulations, Jazz Band, we are proud of you,” said Director Joe Wilhelm.

The band has won state championships in 1981, 1991, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997, and 2001.

The band has also placed at state in 1983 — first runner-up; 1989 — first runner-up; 1990 — second runner-up; 1992 — first runner-up; 2002 — first runner-up; 2003 — second runner-up, and 2004 — first runner-up.

In addition, the band received the OSSAA Sweepstakes Accent Award in 2008.

Members of the 2004 State Award winning Jazz Band are: Tyler Linn — trumpet; Jordan Teel — trumpet; Tyler Lane — trumpet; Wade Flynn — trumpet; Jordan Wilhelm — trombone; Patrick Malone — trombone; Stephen Whitesell — trombone; Aaron Hodges — trombone; Bethany Bledsoe — trombone; Stephanie Killion — alto saxophone; Krystal Thomas — alto saxophone; Morgann Lenhart — alto saxophone; Sophie Smith — tenor saxophone; Lea Brewer — tenor saxophone; Hannah Zych — tenor saxophone; Brandon Holdsworth — baritone saxophone; Charlie Brewer — baritone saxophone; Joseph Craven — drums; Josh Wilhelm — drums; James Thornton — drums; Kirby Williams — bass guitar; Theron Asbery — bass guitar; Heather Lungren — vocal, piano, and Matt Gallman — piano.