Janet Barber

Grove Sun

DELAWARE COUNTY – Races for county commissioners seats in district 1 and district 3 was the talk on the Delaware County courthouse lawn Tuesday night with several of the candidates setting up watch parties. After all the districts were tallied, with 27.17% or 6,210 of the 22,859 voters registered in Delaware County voting, District #1 commissioner seat went to D-David Poindexter with 712 votes or 67.49 to D-Danny Gandy’s 343 votes or 32.51 in the Democrat race and for the Republican side, R-Doug Smith won with 740 or 73.63% of the votes to 265 or 26.37 for R-Jerry Cole. Poindexter will face Smith in the November 2 ballot.

In the race in southern Delaware County, Danny Duncan came in with 634 votes to Don Beck’s 315, followed by Martin Kirk 258, Bob Spry 155, Lenden Woodruff 101, Charles Lanier 96 and Robert Rowley with 81 votes. All candidates were Democrats.

Duncan with 38.66% of the votes will meet Beck with 19.2% in the runoff election August 24. Duncan would have had to carry 51% of the votes cast to come out with a clean win.

In state races in Delaware County: To be decided in the November 2, election.

Governor’s race went to Jari Askins with 2,243 votes to Mary Fallin’s 1,367 votes.

Lt. Gov. went to Todd Lamb with 1,231 votes on the Republican ticket. He will face Kenneth Corn-D and Richard Prawdzienski-I.

State Auditor and Inspector went to Gary Jones-R with 1,618 votes. He will face D-Steve Burrage. Superintendent of Public Instruction went to Susan Paddack with 2,719 votes. She will face Janet Barresi with 1,549 votes.

U.S. Senator will be Jim Rogers with 2,411 votes against Tom Coburn with 2,132 votes in November.

Attorney General is R-Ryan Leonard with 1,145 who won with 1 vote over Scott Pruitt. Leonard will face D-Jim Priest.

State Treasurer went to R-Ken Miller with 1,366 votes. He will run against D-Stephen E. Covert.

U.S. Representative, District #2 went to Dan Boren-D with 2,639 votes. R-Charles Thompson won with 1,345 votes.

Commissioner of Labor went to D-Mark Costello with 1,271 votes. He will face R-Lloyd L. Fields.

Insurance Commissioner went to R-John P. Crawford who will be in the runoffs with John Doak with 524. The winner will face D-Kim Holland.

Corporation Commissioner race went to Dana Murphy with 1,457 votes.

For State Representative district no. 86, John Auffett won with 650 votes.

Three races in Delaware County drew no opponents this year and include Robert G. Haney, District 13 Judge, Associate District Judge Barry Denney and District 13 District Attorney Eddie Wyant.

“Representing all grade levels and core subjects and a few elective subjects, the 12 finalists reflect the high quality and passion of Oklahoma’s teaching force,” said Superintended Sandy Garrett, during her announcement as part of the final day of the Oklahoma Department of Education’s 20th annual “Leadership” conference at the Tulsa Convention Center in Tulsa. “Teaching 21st century learners aren’t for professionals who shy away from challenge or aren’t interested in continuing to learn themselves,”

Garrett said. “These 12 individuals recognize and embrace that they have to embrace technology,harness the speed of which information and knowledge is shared today, and address the individual needs of students who, in this state, are becoming more diverse and poor.”

Six state regional committees comprised of teachers and parents each selected two of the 12 finalists. A state committee comprised of education, business and civic leaders will choose the winner, with Garrett making the announcement in ceremonies at the Oklahoma State Fair in September.

“When I took office 20 years ago, the Oklahoma Teacher of the Year program was simply a certificate and a handshake,” she said. “We sought to elevate this program and I’m proud that Oklahoma’s program is now recognized as one of the nation’s finest, if not the finest.”

The winner represents Oklahoma in the national Teacher of the Year competition, receives more than $50,000 in cash and prizes and serves as Oklahoma’s “Ambassador of Teaching, presenting to teachers and civic groups throughout the state for one year.

In addition to Hunsperger, the following Oklahoma educators will be considered to represent the state as 2011 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year are:

• Brandi Dickson, who teaches fourth grade at Cross Timbers Elementary School in Tecumseh.

• Leesa Dickson, who teaches Reading at Westside Elementary School in Claremore.

• Terri Foughty, who teaches sixth grade Reading and Language Arts at Newcastle Middle School.

• Karen Watson Lewis , who teaches eighth grade English and Reading at Plainview Middle School.

• Kristi Lovett, who teaches Art and Studio Art at Crescent High School.

• Lynette Miller, who teaches sixth grade Special Education, Mathematics and Language Arts at Jenks West Intermediate School.

• Kendra Sue Roulet, who teaches Advanced Place-ment U.S. History and Non-Western Culture at Charles Page High School in Sand Springs.

• Elizabeth Smith, who teaches seventh grade Reading at Byng Junior High.

• Kari Steele, who teaches sixth grade Pre-Advanced Placement Literature and Composition at Deer Creek Middle School.

• Fran Stellman, who teaches Family and Consumer Sciences at Stillwater High School.

• Meredith Wronowski, who teaches Biology, Chemistry and Biotechnology at Capitol Hill High School in Oklahoma City.