The Grove Area Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce the selection of Jana Jae as the 2008 Grove Christmas Parade Grand Marshal.  The Christmas Parade will be held on Saturday, December 13 beginning at 6 p.m. The theme for this year’s parade is “Mother Goose Christmas.”

It’s with radiant energy that Jana Jae hits the stage. The audience reaction is electrifying. It is her combined qualities of raw enthusiasm and pure musicianship that makes her “The First Lady of Country Fiddle.”

Jae’s musical roots run deep. Both her parents studied at the famed Julliard School of Music in New York City.

At the age of 5, Jae, who had already become amazingly adept on her 1/8 sized violin, moved with her mother to western Idaho. It was there that she was first introduced to country fiddling by her grandfather, an old-time fiddler, who taught her countless fiddle tunes by ear.

Before long, Jae began entering the National Oldtime Fiddlers’ Contest in nearby Weiser, Idaho, where she won the Ladies’ National Championship several times.

Even though her country fiddling was in great demand, Jae continued her classical violin training. She went to college in Denver on a music scholarship and studied violin for an entire year in Europe at the Vienna Academy of Music.

She eventually ended up in Redding, California where she taught both country fiddle and violin.

Jae and her trademark blue fiddle soon took the world of country music by storm.

Buck Owens was one of the first “big names” to recognize her talents and offered her a job as the first female member of his “Buckaroos” band. They later married.

Jae went on to became part of the regular team of performers of the “Hee Haw” show filming over 100 shows.

On her own, Jae has built a solid solo career, drawing upon her diverse musical background.

She has appeared in concert with Chet Atkins, Roy Clark, Mel Tillis, The Oakridge Boys, Tammy Wynette, and many other country greats.

She is a powerful whirlwind on stage, enjoying a total rapport with the audience and her outstanding band, “Hotwire.”

 “It will be a real challenge to top last year’s parade” state GACC President Lisa Friden. “We are always so amazed at the great creative ideas everyone comes up with.”

Parade committee members include Doyle Seawright, Joey Latham, Penny Sternbeck, Dennis Hutchinson, Jerry Bohanan and Kelly Rice.

Registration forms may be obtained at the Grove Area Chamber office. The deadline to enter is Monday, December 8th. A $10.00 parade entry fee is charged to help with costs of the parade. All entries are required to utilize lights on floats and individual entries. Please remember the Chamber will provide the only Santa allowed in the parade.