GROVE - The Delaware County Republicans have released the 2020 scholarships winners.

Each year, scholarship applications are provided through the Delaware County Public School System as well as the Home School Community. Scholarships are awarded based on the applicant's desire to obtain a college degree with a commitment and/or intent to make their community as well as the surrounding area a better place to live and serve as a citizen.

Applicants apply through the high school counselors' office or home school coordinators and are selected for interviews, based on well-defined guidelines.

Each year two recipients (one male and one female) are selected from area schools for the coveted Norma Halterman Memorial Scholarship. Norma Halterman, a 1946 Grove High School graduate was an dedicated advocate for education and community volunteerism. Tirelessly, while raising her children, she worked to enhance the public education system, as the first woman ever elected to the Grove Public School Board; volunteered for fundraising efforts for the United Methodist Church building and the Integris Hospital Foundation. Additionally, as a long time Republican, she established the Delaware County Republican Women's Group and was a "strong voice" for conservative values throughout the county.

Just this year, a scholarship was awarded in honor of the legacy of the late Darrell Mastin. The Darrell Mastin Memorial Scholarship was established for a deserving athlete from Grove High School, who has experienced success in sports as well as in academics.

Since the establishment of the scholarship program, over $8000 has been awarded to students throughout the county. Students from Jay High School, Colcord High School, the Home School Community, in addition to students from Grove Public Schools, have benefited from these scholarship funds.

To support the funds, garage sales, luncheons and fashion shows are organized each year. Additionally, individual contributions are accepted throughout the year for each scholarship.