The Grove basketball teams have both received their playoff pairings for the 2018-19 season.

Both teams will compete in Class 4, Area IV.

In Oklahoma playoff basketball, the first round is a called a District. Everyone advances to the Regional Tournament where three of the eight teams will advance to the Area Tournament.

Two of the six teams will advance out of the Area Tournament and go to the State Tournament. It is confusing but remember that that playoffs are double elimination for everyone. So here is how it will go.

The Regional is made up of Vinita, Stilwell, Holland Hall, Catoosa, Grove, Miami, Broken Bow, and Poteau. The other eight teams in the Area are Mannford, Ft. Gibson, Locust Grove, Sallisaw, Inola, Skiatook, Jay, and Sequoyah (Claremore).

Grove will compete in District 7 hosting Miami. Miami is not a regular season opponent for either the Ridgerunners or the Lady Red. That game will take place on Friday, February 16.

After the District Round, each team will advance to Regionals. The final two teams in the Winner’s Bracket will play. Both teams will move on to the Area Tournament.

One of those teams will go in undefeated and only have to win one game to clinch a berth to the state tournament. The other will drop to the Consolation Bracket of the Area Tournament and matchup with whichever team makes it through.

If a team drops to the Consolation Bracket, it means every game they play from then on will be an elimination game.

If a team loses their District Game, they can still get through and advance to the state tournament, but it will take a heroic effort. That team would have to win seven elimination games to get to the state tournament.

The winner of the district will move to Winner’s Bracket C and face the winner of District 6 which features a game of Catoosa at Holland Hall. The loser of the district will move to Consolation Bracket D and face the loser of District 6 in an elimination game.

The first round of Regional Games will take place on Thursday, Feb. 21. The second round will be Friday, Feb. 22. And the championship games to move to the Area Tournament on Saturday, Feb. 23.