While a few local races remain uncontested, several county, state and federal seats drew challengers from both parties at the close of the June primary filing period.

At the county level, Republican Martin Kirk, Delaware County Commissioner for district 3 filed unopposed for the primary to retain his seat.

Kirk will face off in November against the winner of the June Democratic primary. Two candidates filed for that race: Former county commissioner Danny Duncan of Colcord and Carl Lancaster of Jay.

In the legal races, Delaware County Associate Judge Barry Denney has filed unopposed to fill the spot of District Judge for the 13th Judicial District. He will follow Judge Robert Haney, who plans to retire at the end of this term.

Denney said he is spending this week at a domestic violence conference, which focuses on how the court system can better deal with the issue.

He hopes the training will be beneficial as he works towards developing one of his goals: a specific docket for domestic violence cases.

In Ottawa County, Denney would like to see the establishment of community sentencing - which already exists in Delaware County.

He believes the community sentencing docket, along with drug court, help provide ways to keep individuals within the community, and to provide rehabilitation not available to those sent to prison.

If funding is found, Denney would like to start a mental health docket, to help focus on offenders with mental health issues, much like drug court works with those with substance issues.

Delaware County District Attorney Kenny Wright has filed unopposed for a second term as the judicial district's district attorney. 

"I am excited and honored to have the privilege of serving as the district attorney for Delaware and Ottawa Counties for another four years," Wright said. "I am thankful to my family, friends and coworkers for their support during my first term.

"I will continue to focus on ensuring the safety of our communities as a minister of justice. I look forward to continuing our work with Sheriff [Jeremy] Floyd and Sheriff [Harlan] Moore as well as all the federal, tribal, state, and municipal law enforcement agencies we work with every day."

Wright said knows challenges will continue within the two county judicial district in his next four terms.

"The spread of destruction from methamphetamine and opioid addiction shows no signs of slowing," Wright said. "We meet these challenges with an ever decreasing budget, but we continue to fight. We will persevere. We will prevail."

For the associate judge's slot, left open by Denney's move, Grove Attorney Kathy Lungren Baker has filed for the seat along with Miami Attorney and Monkey Island resident Dave Crutchfield. That non-party race will be determined during the November general election.

State-wide offices

At state level, multiple candidates have come out to challenge incumbent Rep. Josh West (R-Grove), for the House District 5 seat.

They include on the Republican ticket: Josh Russell (R-Grove), Elizabeth Boney, Salina, and Tonya Rudick, Eucha.

On the Democratic ticket, Grove educator Ed Trumbull will face off against the winner of the Republican primary in November.

For the House District 7 race, which includes a portion of northern Delaware County, Rep. Ben Loring (D-Miami) will face off against William Leonard (R-Miami) in November.

For the House District 86 race, which includes a portion of southern Delaware County, Rep. Will Fourkiller (D-Stilwell) has filed to retain his seat. He will face off against Steve Weaver, Westville, and Rhonda Cox, Peggs, in the June primary.

The winner of that race will face the winner of the Republican primary in November. Those candidates include Rhonda Hopkins, Rose, and David Hardin, Stilwell. 

In the U.S. Congressional District 2 race, Congressman MarkWayne Mullin (R-Westville) has filed to retain his seat. 

He is being challenged on the Republican ticket by Jarrin Jackson, of Owasso and Brian Jackson of Muskogee and John McCarthy of Afton.

Others filing for the position include Democrats Elijah McIntosh, Tahlequah, and Jason Nichols, Tahlequah, Clay Padgett, Soper, and Virginia Blue Jeans Jenner, Wagoner.

Third party candidates running for the seat include Independent John Foreman of Park Hill and Libertarian Richard Castaldo of Grove. 

Other Races

Races of state-wide interest include:


- Democrat - Connie Johnson, Forest Park and Drew Edmondson, Oklahoma City;

- Republican - Barry Gowdy, Elk City, Gary Richardson, Tulsa, Christopher Barnett, Tulsa, Mick Cornett, Oklahoma City, Dan Fisher, El Reno, Todd Lamb, Oklahoma City, Kevin Stitt, Tulsa, Eric Foutch, McCloud, Gary Jones, Cache, and Blake Cowboy Stephens, Tahlequah.

- Libertarian: Joe Exotic, Wynnewood, Chris Powell, Bethany and Rex L. Lawhorn, Broken Arrow.

Lt. Governor

- Democrat - Anastasia A. Pittman, Oklahoma City and Anna Dearmore, Okmulgee.

-Republican - Eddie Fields, Wynona, Dominique DaMon Block, Oklahoma City, Dana Murphy, Edmond and Matt Pinnell, Tulsa.

- Independent: Ivan Holmes, Oklahoma City.

State Auditor

- Republican: Cindy Byrd, Coalgate, Charlie Prater, Edmond and John Uzzo, Tahlequah;

- Libertarian: John Yeutter, Tahlequah.

Attorney General

- Democrat: Mark Myles, Oklahoma City.

- Republican: Mike Hunter, Edmond, Gentner Drummond, Hominy, and Angela Bonilla, Glenpool.

State Treasurer

- Republican: Randy McDaniel, Edmond.

- Independent: Charles de Coune, Oklahoma City.

Superintendent of Public Instruction

- Democrat John Cox, Peggs

- Republican: Joy Hofmeister, Tulsa, Linda Murphy, Edmond, and Will Farrell, Tulsa.

- Independent: Larry Huff, Oklahoma City. 

Commissioner of Labor

- Democrat: Sam A. Missoum, Tulsa and Fred Dorrell, Broken Arrow.

- Republicans: Keith Swinton, Norman, Cathy Costello, Edmond and Leslie Osborn, Mustang.

- Independent: Brandt Dismukes, Oklahoma City.

Insurance Commissioner

- Democrat Kimberly Fobbs, Tulsa,

- Republican Glen Mulready, Tulsa and Donald Chasteen, Inola.

Corporation Commissioner

- Democrats: Ken Reich, Isabel, Beau Williams, Edmond, Ashley Nicole McCray, Norman, and Blake Cummings, Maud.

- Republican Brian Bingham, Sapulpua, and Bob Anthony, Oklahoma City, and Harold Spradling, Cherokee.

- Independent Jackie Short, Oklahoma City.

For more information, persons interested may contact the Delaware County Election Board at 918-253-8762.