With a vote of 474 to 275, David Poindexter is officially the commissioner for District 1 in Delaware County

Poindexter topped his opponent, fellow Republican Steve Rowe with 63.28 percent of the 749 votes cast in the special election on Tuesday, Feb. 13.

The win allows Poindexter, who previously served as the deputy commissioner for the district, to complete the term left open when Doug Smith retired in December.

The seat will be up for a vote again, during the June primary election. 

In other election news, Karen Dyer received a majority of the vote for the seat number three on the Grove School Board.

She received 746 of the 1,011 votes cast by district voters. Reneé Diver, who unofficially withdrew from the race a week ago, received a total of 265 votes.

Dyer will replace Audrey Crawford, who chose not to seek an additional term in office.

Elsewhere in the county, voters decided by a overwhelming 89 percent to approve the Monkey Island Fire Protection bond issue, which will build a new fire station for the growing department.

The final tally was 223 yes, to 25 no. 

In Colcord, voters brought incumbent Mike Wofford back for another term on the Colcord School Board. He won with a total of 240 votes to the 59 challenger Tiffany Duncan received.

In Leach, newcomer Carrie Warren won over incumbent Brandi Ross, to serve on the Leach School Board. Warren won 36 to 6.