Four races, including one for the Grove School Board, and the Delaware County Commission, have developed as filing for the Feb. 13, 2018 election drew to a close.

By Wednesday afternoon, Reneé Diver and Karen Dyer, both of Grove, had filed to fill the seat currently held by Audrey Crawford on the Grove School Board.

At the county level, David Poindexter (R-Grove) and Steve W. Rowe (R-Grove) filed to fill the District 1 County Commission seat being vacated by Doug Smith later this month.

Smith, who currently serves as the commission chairman, plans to retire.

Grove School Board

Reneé Diver

Reneé Diver, 37, has lived in the Grove School District since 2008. Diver and her husband, James, own and operate Cellfill, a cellular concrete manufacturing and production company, based in the industrial park in Grove.

The couple have three daughters: Alice, 4, Lyla, 2, and Evelyn, 4 months.  

Diver said she chose to file for the board seat for a variety of reasons, first of which is that her daughters will become part of the school district in the coming years.

"I wanted to be a part of things that positively impact the community as much as possible," Diver said, adding she wants to find ways for the district to be one of the "top notch" programs in the state.

"James and I are passionate about giving back," Diver said. "I saw the need, and God put it on my heart. I felt like It was supposed to be."

Diver said she spoke with Crawford about her five years on the board.

"She said it's a good calling, and they need somebody who cares about our school system and kids," Diver said

Karen Dyer

Karen Dyer has lived in the Grove School System since 2004. She and her husband, Marty, have two daughters: Emma, 14, and Abbi, 11, both students within the school system.

Dyer works from home in a sales, retail analysis position. 

She chose to file for the office, because it's a chance to help what she calls "an awesome school system."

"We've done amazing things in the last number of years," Dyer said. "Everything the school district does makes the community better. Better schools means a better community."

Dyer said she sees serving on the board is another way to give back to the community.

"With two children in school, I'm very passionate about kids and passionate about kids growing and learning and doing their best," Dyer said. "I was always involved in PTA/PTO. This is a new way to get involved and be part of the school."

Delaware County Commission

David Poindexter

David Poindexter, 40, is a life-long resident of the Grove area.

A 1996 graduate of Grove High School, Poindexter also attended Northeast Technology Center in Afton.

Since March 2011, he has served as deputy commissioner for District 1 and as its road foreman.

"I believe I have a unique experience level to offer the citizens of Delaware County," Poindexter said. "My experience as deputy commissioner for the past six and half years has given me keen insight into what drives the economy of Delaware County."

If elected, he plans to continue to "improve and expand" the county's economic environment, which includes tourism and manufacturing.

"This includes infrastructure, and transportation improvements," Poindexter said. "As well as possible tax incentives for future private sector growth."

Poindexter said he gained additional experience "at the kitchen table" as he discussed county issues with his father, the late Bruce Poindexter, who served as county commissioner for 12 years. 

"This is a job you do, because you want to serve the community," Poindexter said. "You want to serve your neighbors and try to help things improve." 

Steve W. Rowe

Steve W. Rowe (R-Grove), has lived and worked within Delaware County for 64-1/2 years. A life-long resident of Grove, he is married to Linda (Fink). 

Together they have four children: Jonathan Rowe, a junior at Grove High School, Larry Rowe, Rick Rowe, Travis Fink and Tailor Mussatti. 

Rowe, who is a third owner at Washboard Laundry and Shundi Storage, owns and operates TSR Wrecker Service.

His exposure to public service includes watching his father, the late Charles Rowe, serving for 16 years on the Grove City Council. 

He chose to run for public office because he wanted to give residents a choice.

"I've known David [Poindexter] since he was a baby, his mother and father were friends," Rowe said. "I just think having a choice makes people better candidates and public servants."

He also believes he can do a good job, as county commissioner.

"I have no axes to grind," Rowe said. "I'm not going to promise anything I can't fulfill.

"The County Commission needs to operate the county. The list goes a lot further than grading roadways."

Other Races 

All seats open for the school board election are the "office no. 3" seat.

Jay - Vince Goins has filed unopposed for the seat. Current board member Monte Rutherford decided not to file for another term.

Cleora - Current board vice president, Ryan Bagby, has filed unopposed for another term in office.

Turkey Ford - Incumbent Diane Cook has filed unopposed for another term. Turkey Ford, with voters in both Delaware and Ottawa Counties, is part of the Grove Public Schools Transportation District.

Colcord - Tiffany Duncan has filed to challenge incumbent Mike Wofford for the seat. 

Kansas - Jeremy Russell has filed, unchallenged, for the seat. 

Kenwood - Matthew Butter has filed, unchallenged, for the seat.

Leach - Brandi Ross has filed to retain her seat. She is being challenged by Carrie Warren.

Mosley - Terry Scott has filed for the seat. Lori Sherrell chose not to file for another term in office. 

Oaks Mission School District - Dave Sanders, incumbent, chose to file for another term in office.

Other seats 

Other board positions open for filing with Delaware County voters, include the following schools: Afton, Indian Capital Technology Center, Ketchum, Northeast Technology Center, and Westville.

In Afton, Brandon Fletcher will challenge Jeff Robinson for the seat on the school board.

The period to contest a candidate's filing takes place during the work hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., at the election board, with the final deadline being 5 p.m., Friday, Dec. 8.

For more information, or to register to vote, persons interested may contact the Ottawa County Election Board office at 918-542-2893 or the Delaware County Election Board at 918-253-8762.