Multiple seats will be up for grabs for area school boards - including those in Grove and Jay - as well as the District 1 County Commissioner seat, when the filing period opens for the Feb. 13, 2018 election.

The filing period takes place from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday, Dec. 4, and continues from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Tuesday and Wednesday, Dec. 5 and 6.

The period to contest a candidates filing takes place during the work hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., all week, with the final deadline being 5 p.m., Friday, Dec. 8. 

Candidates may file for office at the Delaware County Election Board office, 225 South Fifth Street, in Jay.

Nine school board races will take place within Delaware County, including those in Grove, Jay, Cleora, Colcord, Kansas, Kenwood, Leach, Mosley and Oaks-Mission. 

A special primary election District 1 County Commission seat, currently held by Doug Smith - who plans to retire in December - will also be included in the Feb. 13 election.

A general election will take place on April 3.

Open seats

All seats open for this election are the "office no. 3" seat.

Grove - Audrey Crawford has indicated she does not plan to seek re-election, saying she initially promised her family she would limit her time on the board to five years.

"At this time I don't intend to seek re-election," Crawford said. "I know there are some good people out there, who can serve in this capacity, and serve our district well. It's a hard decision, I have loved serving the district."

Cleora - Current board vice president, Ryan Bagby, has indicated he will file for another term in office.. 

Jay - Monte Rutherford said he does not plan to file for re-election. Rutherford said after 10 years, he's ready to pass the leadership position onto someone else.

Turkey Ford - Diane Cook has indicated she plans to seek another term in office. Turkey Ford, with voters in both Delaware and Ottawa Counties, is part of the Grove Public Schools Transportation District.

Colcord - Mike Wofford has indicated he plans to run for reelection.

Kansas - Jeremy Russell has indicated he plans to run for reelection.

Kenwood - Matthew Butter has indicated he plans to run for reelection.

Leach - Brandi Ross, who was appointed to fill the opening left after Jerome Snell stepped down, is considering filing for the seat, according to school officials.

Mosley - Lori Sherrell has not indicated if she will run for another term.

Oaks Mission School District - Dave Sanders has indicated he will seek another term.

Other seats 

Other board positions open for filing with Delaware County voters, include the following schools: Afton, Indian Capital Technology Center, Ketchum, Northeast Technology Center, and Westville.

For more information, or to register to vote, persons interested may contact the Ottawa County Election Board office at 918-542-2893 or the Delaware County Election Board at 918-253-8762.