Multiple races have emerged throughout Delaware county for the Feb. 14, 2017 school board elections.

Two people have filed for the open seat number two within the Jay Public School System.

Those filling for the office in Jay include Ashley Williamson and Bill Hobbs will vye for the seat.

Initially, incumbent Linda Bingham had filed to retain her seat. She withdrew her name on Friday, Dec. 9 from contention.

"I have no real reason [for withdrawing]," Bingham said regarding her decision not to seek re-election. "I have decided not to committee another four or five years to the board.

"I decided it was time to step aside, and let someone else serve on the board."

Bingham said she has enjoyed her time on the board, and the people she served with, adding that helping the children of the Jay public school system has been a joy.  

This is the first school board election since the district dissolved boundary lines for the various seats, which means the entire school district will vote to fill this office. 

Elsewhere in the county, in Colcord, two candidates will contend for the seat: Benjamin King and David Ramsey.

In Moseley, Amanda Kauffeld and Laura Poteet will face off for that opening.

Tonia Fields Trejo and Melvin Blossom Jr., will contend for the opening on the Oaks Mission school board.

Those running unopposed in Delaware county include:

• Grove School District - Terry Jones

• Cleora School District - Billy Jarvis

• Kansas School District - Eldon F. Brashear

• Kenwood School District - Theodore M Smith

• Leach School District - Luke Barnett

In Ottawa county, races have emerged for the No. 2 seat in two districts. 

Wayne Morey, challenger, will face against incumbent Paula Suman for the seat within the Quapaw School District. 

Sherman Weaver filed to oppose Billy Hendrickson for the Northeast Technical Center Seat No. 2.

Those running unopposed in Ottawa county include:

• Afton — Clifton Tony Shepherd;

• Commerce — Herb Logan;

• Fairland — Crystal Wyrick;

• Miami — Harley Turner;

• Wyandotte — Keith Enyart, and

• Turkey Ford — Donna Mouser.

The deadline for filing was 5 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 7. The annual school board election takes place on Tuesday, Feb. 14, 2017.

For more information, or to register to vote, persons interested may contact the Ottawa County Election Board office at 918-542-2893 or the Delaware County Election Board at 918-253-8762.

Tony Downing contributed to this story.