Guy Ellis

The Grove Ridgerunner wrestling team advanced their season dual record to 10-2 Monday night with a 60-21 road win over the McDonald County Mustangs.

The dual served as a tune-up for the District Quad Championship to be held Tuesday in Claremore. The District Quad will feature Tulsa East Central, Claremore, and Miami. The winner of the competition will be crowned District Champion and earn a trip to the Dual State Tournament.

Last season the Ridgerunners hosted the event and claimed the District Championship. From there Grove advanced to the semi-finals at the Dual State with a win over El Reno before falling to eventual Dual State Champion Catoosa.

“It’s always a tough district with East Central and Claremore,” said GHS Wrestling Head Coach John Henry Ward. “Claremore is ranked number 1 in 5A and East Central is sixth, so it’s going to be a heck of a dog fight.”

The Ridgerunners are ranked fifth in the latest 5A dual poll.

Monday night saw the Ridgerunner veterans dominate their opponents while the new starters continued their steady progress.

’08 State Champion Damien Hopper recorded a second period fall while ’08 State Tournament podium finishers Dusty Gehrke, Connor Sarwinski, and Zach Housley recorded falls as well.

Returning starter Bryce Armstrong recorded a fall at 125 lbs. First year starter Jarrod Leach recorded a first period fall at 140 lbs. Spencer Rutherford won a second period fall at 130 lbs.

“The guys that have been doing a good job for us (in the past) are continuing to do so,” said Ward. “We’ve got some new faces in the line up. Andrew Callaway came in at 189, Michael Fenlon went down to 171; so we’ve got some things that are being shuffled around and people are finding where they’re comfortable. Up until the end of this month we may have some more of that. But, hopefully we’ll settle in and everybody will get used to where they need to be and we’ll go see what we can do when the time counts.”

Grove 60, McDonald County 21

103-Carmen LeGrand d Josh Popp (G) 15-3; 112-Damien Hopper (G) d Trevor Meredith F2; 119-Zach Housley (G) d Rob Miller F2; 125-Bryce Armstrong (G) d Nate Huerta F2; 130-Spencer Rutherford (G) d Cody Hansen F2; 135-Eric Warren d Dusty Baker (G) 20-4; 140-Jarrod Leach (G) d Kyle LeGrand F1; 145-Trey Sullivan forfeit; 152-Connor Sarwinski (G) d Daniel Sumler F1; 160-Dusty Gehrke (G) d Drew Wasson F2; 171-Michael Fenlon (G) forfeit; 189-Andrew Callaway (G) forfeit; 215-Matt Horton d Hunter Hays (G) F2; HWT-Tyler Johnson (G) forfeit