Zachary Bechtol, M.D. of Grove, OK, has been named as this year’s honoree for a prestigious award presented by the Oklahoma Academy of Family Physicians (OAFP).

Dr. Bechtol was chosen by the OAFP Board of Directors for the compassionate and comprehensive care he gives to his patients; his involvement in community affairs and activities that enhance the quality of his community; and serving as an outstanding role model professionally and personally to his community, to other health professionals, and to residents and medical students. The award will be presented at the annual meeting of the OAFP in Oklahoma City, June 14.

Dr. Bechtol is a family physician with the NEO Family Medicine and Obstetrics in Grove and the owner and medical director of Wellness 2000.

Letters supporting Dr. Bechtol, written by community members and colleagues, mentioned that he unselfishly gives his time to educate future and current medical and healthcare students, and that he is an active advocate for his patients and those in his community and surrounding areas.

He is active in the Oklahoma Physicians Resource/Research Network (OKPRN) and is a volunteer associate faculty at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, Department of Family Medicine – working with fourth year medical students doing their clerkships in rural medicine. He also holds several positions at Grove General Hospital, including: Medical Executive Committee: Chairman of Pharmacy and Therapeutics; and Chairman of Diabetic Education. Dr. Bechtol serves on the Board of Directors and is a volunteer physician for the Christian Medical Clinic; is a Tar Wars anti-tobacco program presenter; and is the assistant soccer coach for Grove High School.

Dr. Bechtol has been a member of the American Academy of Family Physicians for over 16 years and is board certified by the American Board of Family Medicine. He received his medical degree from the University of Oklahoma, College of Medicine in Oklahoma City and completed his residency at St. Joseph's Hospital in Wichita, KS.

Dr. Bechtol is now eligible for the American Academy of Family Physicians’ Family Physician of the Year Award.   If you would like to write a testimonial on behalf of Dr. Bechtol, please send the letter to Dr. Bechtol's office at 601 E. 13th St.  Suite H  Grove, Oklahoma  74344.

The OAFP was established in 1948 by the authority of the American Academy of Family Physicians, which has a deep-rooted commitment to the health, dignity and well being of the American people. The AAFP is the largest medical specialty organization devoted solely to primary care.