Officers intercepting two burglaries in progress, new supervisors, increased security, and new equipment were a few of the highlights of the year 2008 at Grove Police Department.

Friday night marked the annual banquet, hosted by the Grove Citizens’ Police Academy Alumni Association (GCPAAA).

Grove Officer Ray Harvey was honored as Officer of the Year.

Police Chief Mark Morris said Harvey’s name came up repeatedly when he asked for nominations.

“He is always on time and well-dressed for duty and he has a really good attitude,” Morris said.

This year’s featured speaker was Tulsa KOTV Newswoman Lori Fullbright, who regaled officers and their spouses with stories about her colorful years on the crime beat.

City Manager Bruce Johnson also spoke to the crowd, stating that he feels the officers in Grove are exceptional in their moral character and their dedication to each other and the community at large.

Grove Police Chief Mark Morris said he is proud of the department and thankful for the support it receives from the city council and administration.

He said his officers work hard.

“We don’t just get dressed up and look for a place to eat in the morning,” Morris joked.

He said he feels truly blessed to be a part of the department.

“I am honored to serve you,” he told his officers. “My job is to support you and make sure you get what you need.”

He said Johnson makes his job easier.

“Every time I have gone to him (Johnson) and told him we really need something, he has done his best to make sure we get it,” Morris observed.

New Assistant Chief Dan Hinman presented Special Achievement awards to Officers Wesley Stephenson, Daniel Amendolara, Ryan Reiman, M.G. Wells, David Sergeant, and Sergeant Detective John Morrow for their involvement in the apprehension of burglary suspects in two separate cases where the burglars were caught in action.

In addition, Officer Scott Graham received an award from GCPAAA President Roy Rott for Officer of the Quarter.

A Special Recognition Award went to Scott Graham, and Jera Bidwell received the Dispatcher of the Year Award.

Also attending the banquet were Grove City Council members Mike Davenport and Gary Trippensee.

Various area businesses donated prizes for the officers