JAY – Delaware County Commissioners named five members to serve on the trust that will oversee the tax increment district (TIF) on Monkey Island for the renovation of the Shangri-La Resort during a regular meeting Monday morning.

Newly appointed members to the Delaware County Economic Development Authority will include Grove EMS representative Lendell Bass, who will serve a two year term; Grove School Board Member Dr. Jim Rutter, who will serve a three-year term; Vo-Tech representative Joe Hutchison, who will serve a one-year term; and Cleora School Superintendent Tim Carson, who will be the representative at large, serving a four-year term.

District #2 Commissioner Billy Cornell asked that the chairman of the board of county commissioners not be named automatically as the chairman of the newly formed authority.

The commissioners agreed, with legal advice from Assistant District Attorney Nick Lelecas.

District #1 County Commissioner Ken Crowder asked commissioners Dave Kendrick and Cornell if they wanted to serve on the board and they both replied that they did not.

Kendrick then made a motion for Crowder to serve as chairman of the trust and Cornell seconded the motion.

When it came time for the vote, Commissioner Cornell voted no to forming the authority, but voted yes to Crowder chairing it.

The authority is tentatively set to meet next Monday morning. An agenda will be posted by Wednesday on the Delaware County Courthouse doors.

Other items addressed Monday morning included:

• The tabling once again of a motion to discuss approval of resolution by Delaware County authorizing and approving indebtedness of the Delaware County Economic Development Authority in an amount not to exceed $25,000,000.00 in tax apportionment obligation, waiving competitive bidding of the sale of the revenue notes approving assistance in development financing; authorizing a pledge of apportioned tax increments; and other matters relating to the motion with possible approval.

• Dripping Springs Resort subdivision was approved for platting.

• A bid from Time’s Striping was approved for striping highways in Delaware County.

• A contract between Delaware County and Brown Design Group for the roofing of the Jay Community Center was approved.

• The official certificate of votes for the primary election held July 29, 2008 was received and filed.

• A motion to approve a resolution to participate in the revolving fund with ODOT  for the purchase of equipment was given the go-ahead.

• The signing of a certificate to proceed on a REAP Grant for districts #1 and 3 for salt and sand sheds was approved.

• A petition to annex territory in Ross Acres to the Rural Water District #1 was approved and a hearing was set for Sept. 15 at 9 a.m. on the matter.

The next meeting of the Delaware County Commissioners will be held on Mon., Aug. 18 at 9 a.m. in the Commissioners Office of the Delaware County Courthouse.