JAY – The second day of filing for candidacy for open seats in county government drew three new hats in the rings.

The doors opened at 8 a.m. this morning at the Delaware County Election Board and by the days end at 5 p.m. three more residents of Delaware County stepped up to file for county seats.

Lenden Woodruff, 53 and Bob Spry 47, both Democrats join Robert Rowley, Don Beck, Martin Kirk and Charles Lanier, all Democrats who filed Monday by days end for the district #3 county commissioner seat.

Joan Higgins is the only Monkey Island resident who has filed for the fire protection district as of today at 5 p.m.

Four county residents filed Monday or county commissioner for district #1 include Democrats David Poindexter and Danny Gandy. Republicans were Jerry Cole and Doug Smith.

Also on Monday, Leon Hurt, the incumbent, filed for his seat again as County Assessor and Susan Duncan has filed for the County Treasurer’s chair. Both are democrats.

The filing period will end on Wednesday at 5 p.m.