Guy Ellis

The Grove schools Band Solo and Ensemble troupe competed at the District Solo and Ensemble Contest in Owasso last month and came home with some big awards.

At the district meet the GHS band qualified twenty-two solos and eight ensembles for the OSSAA State Solo and Ensemble Contest at Oklahoma State University.

The Grove Middle School band also competed at the district meet in Owasso and pulled in eight different awards.

The Grove High School Concert Band recently competed in the Pre-District Concert Band Contest at Pryor and received Superior ratings from the judges. The concert band performed “The Huntress” by K.L. King and also played the overture “Symphonic Journey No. 1” by Roland Barrett.

Receiving Superior ratings for a solo performance at the Owasso meet for the GHS band were: Tyler Linn, Jordan Teel, trumpet; Wendy Slayter, French horn; Aron Hodges, trombone; Jordan Wilhelm, baritone; Heather Lungren, Taylor Fields, Ashley Slater, flute; Stephanie Killion, Morgann Lenhart, Destiny Hodges, clarinet; Brittani Hale, oboe; Clint Kidd, Shannon Moser, Krystal Thomas, alto saxophone; Kylie Snow, Dakota Summerfield, Loren Roode, tuba; Sophie Smith, tenor saxophone; Josh Wilhelm, Zach Goins, Joseph Craven, mallets.

Josh Berndt on the trumpet and Stephanie Higgins on the flute each received Excellent ratings from the judges.

Receiving Superior ratings for an ensemble performance at the Owasso meet for the GHS band were: Kylie Snow, Jordan Wilhelm, Wendy Slayter, Patrick Malone, Corey Swartz, and Tyler Linn with a brass sextet. Kylie Snow, Dakota Summerfield, Jordan Wilhelm, and Loren Roode with a brass quartet. Jordan Wilhelm, Patrick Malone, and Aron Hodges with a trombone trio. Heather Lungren, Brittani Hale, and Ashley Slayter with a flute trio. Kailey Threet, Shannon Moser, and Krystal Thomas with a saxophone trio. Morgann Lenhart, Racheal Hole, and Kelseay Bomar with a clarinet trio. Destiny Hodges, Matt Gallman, and Lea Brewer with a clarinet trio. Heather Lungren, Matt Gallman, Aron Romasanta, Joseph Craven, Josh Wilhelm, and Zach Goins with a percussion ensemble.

Jordan Teel, Kylie Snow, Patrick Malone, Tyler Lane, and Tyler Linn received an Excellent rating for their brass quintet as did Megan Linn, Stephanie Higgins, and Matt Gallman for their clarinet trio.

Receiving a Superior rating for solo’s at the Owasso competition from the Grove Middle School were Wade Flynn, trumpet; Erin Swartz, trumpet; Krayton King, trombone; and Charlie Brewer, bassoon.

Elizabeth Johnson on trumpet and Karson Thomas on snare received Excellent ratings at the competition.

Also representing the Grove Middle School at Owasso the trumpet duet of Felicia Wooten and Erin Swartz received a Superior rating as did the percussion ensemble of Ben Tate, Ben Goodman, Karson Thomas, Kathleen Johnson, and Tanner Linn.