As of mid-afternoon on Thursday, April 12, contests had developed in one county race, and multiple state-wide races.

The filing period for county and state-wide races continues to remain open until 5 p.m., Friday, April 13. 

County Races

Candidates for county offices file with the Secretary of the County Election Board. As of Thursday afternoon, only the County Commissioner Number 3 seat had a contested ballot.

County Assessor - Lorena Ellis Cook (D) has filed for re-election.

County Treasurer - Susan Duncan (D) has filed for re-election.

County Commissioner No. 1 - David Poindexter (R) has filed for re-election.

County Commissioner No. 3 - Martin Kirk (R) has filed for re-election. He is being challenged by Danny Duncan (D) who previously held the seat. 

State-wide offices

Candidates for state offices file with the Secretary of the State Election Board in Oklahoma City.

Those filling for races of local interest include: 

District Attorney - Kenny Wright has filed unopposed as of Thursday to retain his office. 

District 13, Office 1 District Court Judge - Judge Barry Denney, Jay, has filed for the seat being vacated with the retirement of Judge Robert Haney.

Associate Judge - Delaware County - Delaware County attorney Kathy Lungren Baker, Grove, has filed for the seat being vacated by Judge Barry Denney.

House of Representatives - Rep. Josh West (R) has filed to retain his seat. He is being challenged by Josh Russell (R-Grove).

U.S. Congressional District 2 - Congressman MarkWayne Mullin (R-Westville) has filed to retain his seat. He is being challenged on the Republican ticket by Jarrin Jackson, of Owasso and Brian Jackson of Muskogee. Others filing for the position include Democrats Elijah McIntosh, Tahlequah, and Jason Nichols, Tahlequah; and Independent John Foreman.

Races of state-wide interest include:

Governor - Democrat - Connie Johnson, Forest Park and Drew Edmondson, Oklahoma City; Republican - Barry Gowdy, Elk City, Gary Richardson, Tulsa, Christopher Barnett, Tulsa, Mick Cornett, Oklahoma City, Dan Fisher, El Reno, Todd Lamb, Oklahoma City and Kevin Stitt, Tulsa; and Libertarian: Joe Exotic, Wynnewood, Chris Powell, Bethany and Rex L. Lawhorn, Broken Arrow.

Lt. Governor - Democrat - Anastasia A. Pittman, Oklahoma City and Anna Dearmore, Okmulgee; Republican - Eddie Fields, Wynona, Dominique DaMon Block, Oklahoma City, and Dana Murphy, Edmond; and Independent: Ivan Holmes, Oklahoma City.

State Auditor - Republican: Cindy Byrd, Coalgate, Charlie Prater, Edmond and John Uzzo, Tahlequah; and Libertarian: John Yeutter, Tahlequah.

 Attorney General - Republican: Mike Hunter, Edmond and Gentler Drummond, Hominy.

State Treasurer - Republican: Randy McDaniel, Edmond.

Superintendent of Public Instruction: Democrat John Cox, Peggs and Republican Joy Hofmeister, Tulsa.

Commissioner of Labor - Republicans Keith Swinton, Norman, Cathy Costello, Edmond and Leslie Osborn, Mustang.

Insurance Commissioner - Democrat Kimberly Fobbs, Tulsa, and Republican Glen Mulready, Tulsa.

Corporation Commissioner - Democrats: Ken Reich, Isabel, Beau Williams, Edmond, and Ashley Nicole McCray, Norman; Republican Brian Bingham, Sapulpua, and Bob Anthony, Oklahoma City, and Independent Jackie Short, Oklahoma City.

About the filing period

For more information on candidate filing, visit the Oklahoma State Election Board’s website at:

For more election-related information, persons interested may contact the County Election Board at 918-253-8762. Declaration of Candidacy forms are available at