One of the most pressing issues in Public Safety for Oklahomans this year was the validity of their driver licenses given the impending final implementation of the federal REAL ID Act of 2005.
HB 1845 allows persons to obtain a REAL ID-compliant driver license or identification card for purposes of boarding an airplane or entering a federal facility or to maintain a REAL ID-noncompliant license or ID card. No person can hold more than one state-issued ID or driver's’ license.
The fee for a compliant or noncompliant driver license is increased by $5 for each class of license issued by the Department of Public Safety. Motor license agents that do not process applications or renewals for REAL ID-compliant licenses and cards are to remit $2 of the fee to the Public Safety Enhancement Fund.
Motor license agents that process REAL ID-compliant applications can keep $2 of the fee. The new fees for driver's license or ID cards are: Class A Commercial Learner's Permit $56.50, Class A Commercial License $56.50, Class B Commercial License Learner Permit $56.50, Class B Commercial License $56.50, Class C Commercial License Learner Permit $46.50, Class D License $38.50, Identification Card $25.
A related measure, HB 1465, prohibits the sharing of personal information or biometric data with the federal government directly, except as required by the REAL ID-Act of 2005. Data also may be shared between agencies, boards, commissions or political subdivisions or as otherwise permitted by law.
SB 643 creates the Impaired Driving Elimination Act 2 and makes numerous changes to laws regulated to drunk driving. The measure requires any deferred prosecution agreement related to DUIs entered into in any municipal, state or federal court, which would result in mandatory revocation of a driver license to be forwarded to the Department of Public Safety (DPS) within five days.
The measure deletes language requiring to the automatic revocation of licensure due to a test result or test refusal. The bill allows a person to maintain driving privilege by participating in an Impaired Driver Accountability Program (IDAP), which DPS is required to establish by June 30, 2018. The department may revoke the driving privilege of a person upon notice of a violation of ignition interlock and may issue a restricted driver license upon payment of fees and the IDAP fee.
The measure establishes a $50 fee allowing a person subject to restricted license to drive a vehicle with an ignition lock. Additionally, the court is to require, as a condition of bond, that an ignition interlock device be placed upon the vehicle of any person charged with a second or subsequent DUI.
The measure also establishes a misdemeanor offense punishable by a fine of not more than $1,000 and up to 10 days in jail for refusing to submit to a breathalyzer test and requires the seizure and destruction of the driver license upon arrest for DUI. Finally, the measure does away with DPS administrative appeal hearings related to DUIs.
It is my honor to serve you as your state representative! Please feel free to contact me anytime.
Rep. Will Fourkiller (D- District 86) represents the 86th district in the Oklahoma House of Representatives. He can be reached at email@example.com or at 405-557-7394.