Members of the Oklahoma Football Coaches Association recently released a proposal for the football districts effective at the start of the 2018-19 football seasons.

The proposal will now go before members of the Oklahoma Secondary Schools Athletic Association for approval Wednesday, Aug. 9.

The football district are established every two years, based upon each school's current Average Daily Membership or ADM.

All county schools except one will remain in the same classification. Colcord, the only exception, will drop from Class 2A to Class A.

“It has been a number of years since Colcord was Class A,” said Colcord Coach Curtis Waltman. “We look forward to playing many of the same schools that we compete against in other sports in the Lucky Seven Conference.”

The proposed teams in Colcord's new district include Rejoice Christian Academy, Fairland, Afton, Oklahoma Union, Quapaw, Ketchum and Commerce. These teams along with Colcord will make up district seven in Class A.

“We are excited in continuing to create rivalries against other northeast Oklahoma schools,” said Waltman.

Jay will continue in Class 3A and be in district four. The Bulldogs's district includes current members Inola and Locust Grove while adding Berryhill, Cascia Hall, Vinita, Claremore Sequoyah and Verdigris as district foes.

Vinita and Verdigris are currently on Jay’s schedule but are played as non-district games.

“Our proposed district, if it is approved and it should, will be very tough and have a number of powerhouse teams,” said Jay Coach Warren Kirk. “Berryhill, Verdigris, Cascia Hall and Claremore Sequoyah will all be tough teams.

"We will go out and look forward to it. We are excited to go out and play teams like this. We have to go and prepare to play our best. We would have to go out and beat good teams at some point anyway.”

Class 3A went from 48 teams with eight districts to 32 teams with four eight team districts moving a number of team down to Class 2A putting them at 64 teams and the remaining 11-man football teams in Class A.

Kansas will be Class 2A district three. The school's district will include Adair, Chelsea, Chouteau, Nowata, Salina, Wyandotte and Metro Christian who is moving down from Class 4A.

Kansas coach Jimmy Dushane declined to comment on his new district until they are approved on August 9.

With the new ADM Oaks will be the smallest school in Class B football. The school has been paired with Regent Prep, South Coffeyville, Summit Christian Academy, Watts and Foyil who is moving down from Class A.

“We will have a couple of private schools in Regent Prep and Summit Christian that are usually pretty good," said Oaks Coach C.D. Thompson. "Foyil will be dropping down from Class A so they should have a pretty good team also. We will just have to take what players we have and go out and play our best."

Grove football coach Ron Culwell was reluctant to comment on his team’s new district.  

“It will be one of the toughest districts in Class 4A," Culwell said. "You have quality teams with Oologah and Wagoner then you add teams like Bristow and Cleveland into the mix. We will just have to go out and play."

In addition to Oologah, Wagoner, Bristow and Cleveland, the Ridgerunners will be paired with Catoosa, Tulsa McClain and rival Miami.

Proposed 2018-19 football districts

Class 4A

District 1: Elgin, Chickasha, Clinton, Weatherford, Newcastle, Cache, Anadarko, Elk City

District 2: Tecumseh, Harrah, Cushing, Blanchard, Tuttle, McLoud, Madill, Bethany

District 3: Oologah, Grove, Bristow, Tulsa McLain, Catoosa, Miami, Cleveland, Wagoner

District 4: Sallisaw, Muldrow, Tulsa Central, Hilldale, Broken Bow, Fort Gibson, Stillwell, Poteau

Class 3A

District 1: Blackwell, Bridge Creek, John Marshall, Heritage Hall, Kingfisher, Perkins-Tryon, Mount St. Mary, Mannford

District 2: Douglass, Lone Grove, Marlow, Pauls Valley, Plainview, Purcell, Sulphur, Bethel

District 3: Seminole, Stigler, Roland, Idabel, Checotah, Okmulgee, Tulsa Webster, Lincoln Christian

District 4: Berryhill, Cascia Hall, Jay, Sequoyah Claremore, Inola, Verdigris, Vinita, Locust Grove

Class 2A

District 1: Alva, Centennial, Chisholm, Hennessey, Luther, Newkirk, Oklahoma Christian School, Perry

District 2: Beggs, Caney Valley, Dewey, Haskell, Kiefer, Morris, Sperry, Victory Christian

District 3: Adair, Chelsea, Choteau, Kansas, Metro Christian, Nowata, Salina, Wyandotte

District 4: Holland Hall, Keys (Park Hill), Panama, Pocola, Spiro, Sequoyah Tahlequah, Vian, Westville

District 5: Antlers, Atoka, Eufaula, Hartshorne, Heavener, Hugo, Valliant, Wilburton

District 6: Coalgate, Comanche, Davis, Dickson, Kingston, Lindsay, Marietta, Tishomingo

District 7: Community Christian, Crooked Oak, Lexington, Little Axe, Millwood, Star Spencer, Stratford, Washington

District 8: Chandler, Henryetta, Holdenville, Jones, Kellyville, Meeker, Okemah, Prague

Class A

District 1: Beaver, Fairview, Hooker, Mooreland, Oklahoma Bible, Okeene, Texhoma, Thomas-Fay-Custer

District 2: Cordell, Frederick, Hinton, Hobart, Hollis, Mangum, Merritt, Sayre

District 3: Cashion, Crescent, Crossings Christian, Minco, Northeast, Oklahoma Christian Academy, Watonga, Wellston

District 4: Apache, Dibble, Elmore City-Pernell, Healdton, Ringling, Rush Springs, Velma-Alma, Walters

District 5: Barnsdall, Drumright, Hominy, Langston Hughes Academy, Morrison, Pawhuska, Pawnee, Tonkawa, Woodland

District 6: Allen, Konawa, Liberty, Mounds, Stroud, Wayne, Wewoka, Wynnewood, Christian Heritage Academy

District 7: Afton, Colcord, Commerce, Fairland, Ketchum, Oklahoma Union, Rejoice Christian, Quapaw

District 8: Central Sallisaw, Gore, Hulbert, Porter, Quinton, Savanna, Talihina, Warner

Class B

District 1: Canton, Laverne, Seiling, Shattuck, Turpin

District 2: Cherokee, Garber, Kremlin-Hillsdale, Pioneer, Ringwood, Waukomis

District 3: Alex, Burns Flat-Dill City, Carnegie, Cyril, Geary, Snyder

District 4: Bray-Doyle, Central Marlow, Empire, Ryan, Waurika, Wilson

District 5: Caddo, Canadian, Maud, Strother, Weleetka, Wetumka

District 6: Arkoma, Cave Springs, Dewar, Gans, Keota, Porum

District 7: Davenport, Depew, Olive, Prue, Wesleyan Christian, Yale

District 8: Foyil, Oaks, Regent Prep, South Coffeyville, Summit Christian, Watts