The Cherokee Nation Election Commission will conduct the 2017 General Election of the Cherokee Nation on Saturday, June 03, 2017.

The Tribal Council seats open for office are Districts 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 11, 15 and one At-Large.

Cherokee citizens interested in running for office may pick up a candidate packet at the Election Commission Office or by contacting the Election Commission and requesting a packet be mailed to them.

The filing period for candidates begins at 8 a.m., on Monday, Feb. 6, and will continue until 5 p.m., Thursday, Feb. 9. Candidates must file for chosen office in person at the Election Commission Office at 17763 South Muskogee Avenue in Tahlequah. 

Absentee ballots

Officials with the Cherokee Nation Election Commission are accepting Absentee Ballot Request Forms now until through Friday, April 21. The Absentee Ballot request forms are available at the Election Commission Office or online at

The closing date of Voter Registration Applications for the 2017 Election Cycle is Friday, March 31.

Voter Registration Applications are available from the Election Commission Office and online at

If a voter has changed their name, address, or have had a 911 address update or any other information, they will need to submit a new Voter Registration Application to update their records.

Voters are encouraged to contact Election Commission officials to make sure their information is current.

The 2017 Election will be district elections and persons taking part in the election must reside at an address located within that district to be eligible to vote.

The exception is “New applicants under the age of 25 who reside outside the boundaries may select to register at-large or in a district of your choice.”

Voters are encouraged to check with the election commission to ensure that all information is correct, and the correct district has been assigned, due to the recent updates of 911 addresses in both Sequoyah and Adair counties. However, this address verification is required for all voters living within the 14 county jurisdiction. 

The Cherokee Nation Election Commission Office is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, at 17763 S. Muskogee Ave, Tahlequah. The mailing address is P.O. Box 1188, Tahlequah, OK 74465.

For more information, persons interested may call 918-458-5899 or 800.353.2895, or e-mail at